2020 Primary Analysis: 51st Assembly District

The 51st Assembly District falls entirely within the boundaries of Los Angeles County. Wendy Carrillo (D) is the incumbent in this race. Carrillo first won the seat in a 2017 special election following the resignation of Jimmy Gomez.

This district shows the following party registration for the three largest political groups (the source is http://www.l2political.com):

Republican- 8.2%
Democrat- 60.0%
NPP- 26.6%

In 2018 we saw Carrillo draw a challenger in her first re-election attempt. The surprise came that the opponent was a Libertarian who qualified as a write-in candidate. Here are the June 2018 results:

Wendy Carrillo (D)- 100.0%
Christopher Stare (L)- 0.0% (4 Write-In Votes)

Per the rules of the jungle primary, those four votes advance Stare to the November election. Stare did slightly better than his June showing, losing by a margin of 86.6% to 13.4%.

In 2020 we saw Carrillo go unopposed and draw no write-in candidates this time around. With Republican registration hovering at 8%, this is not a huge shock.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.