2020 Primary Analysis: 71st Assembly District

The 71st Assembly District falls within the boundaries of Riverside County and San Diego County. Randy Voepel (R) is the incumbent in this race. Voepel has held the seat since 2016.

This district shows the following party registration for the three largest political groups (the source is http://www.l2political.com):

Republican- 40.4%
Democrat- 29.2%
NPP- 23.7%

In spite of this being one of the few safe Republican seats, Voepel still drew a challenger from the right and left in 2018. Here are the result for the June 2018 race:

James Elia (D)- 32.2%
Randy Voepel (R)- 43.6%
Larry Wilske (R)- 24.2%

We saw a total of 95,339 ballots cast in the primary. Voepel easily won when he was facing just the lone Democrat opponent. In November, Voepel won by a margin of 60.6% to 39.4%.

Voepel drew a lone Democrat challenger in 2020. Here are the March 2020 results:

Liz Lavertu (D)- 38.9%
Randy Voepel (R)- 61.1%

126,128 ballots were cast in this race. This was another seat that dramatically increased turnout from 2018.

We will now see a rematch between Liz Lavartu (D) and Randy Voepel (R). Voepel is the elected incumbent and Lavartu was most recently the co-chair of the Spring Valley Community Planning Group.

One of the safer Republican seats in California that looks like it will stay the way it is. I predict that Randy Voepel wins in November.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.