2020 Primary Analysis: 78th Assembly District

The 78th Assembly District falls entirely within the boundaries of San Diego County. Todd Gloria (D) is the incumbent in this race. Gloria has held the seat since 2016.

This district shows the following party registration for the three largest political groups (the source is http://www.l2political.com):

Republican- 20.5%
Democrat- 46.4%
NPP- 27.3%

Here are the result for the June 2018 race:

Todd Gloria (D)- 71.2%
Maggie Campbell (R)- 28.8%

We saw a total of 111,988 ballots cast in the primary. The November election was also no contest for Gloria with the result being, 71.1% to 28.9%

Gloria is not seeking re-election and no Republicans are seeking the seat. Three Democrats sought the seat in the primary. Here are the March 2020 results:

Sarah Davis (D)- 27.7%
Micah Perlin (D)- 16.7%
Chris Ward (D)- 55.6%

124,276 ballots were cast in this race. The ballots cast are irrelevant by party due to the Republicans getting locked out of November.

We will now see a matchup between Sarah Davis (D) and Chris Ward (D). Davis has a background as a midwife and Ward is a San Diego City Councilmember.

Ward has the advantage of Name ID and resources I predict that Chris Ward will win in November.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.